Wisdom in waiting

There is wisdom in waiting…

It doesn’t seem like it. It seems like I’ve stopped hearing from Jesus, so its up to me to pick a path and pray that it is the correct one.

I’m a doer. I don’t like sitting still. I want to accomplish something by the end of each day. So the internal me is saying, “Obviously, we have to keep going. I guess God’s leaving this one up to you.”

But he isn’t. As he’s silently teaching me, much is accomplished in the wait. images

After all, as motivated as I am, I can get pretty far, pretty fast; if I choose the wrong path, I may end up having to backtrack many miles before I can re-route to the path God intended for me in the first place. By forging ahead without guidance, I may end up actually extending the time to my destination, than had I simply waited.

And so I stand where I am for the time being…lest I make myself into a prodigal child.

As my husband sits with his computer playing our wedding song, I’m reminded of how far God has brought us. As we danced our first dance, we had no idea what was in store for us. Had someone told me that a year from then we’d be raising support to move to England, I’d have laughed and said “In my dreams!”

In only a year, the Lord has led us through the end of college, in and out of multiple jobs, and out of Portland. He has revealed to us his plan that will take us to England, and he has led us to raise an incredible amount of money in an impossible amount of time. But amidst all the changes, God has been our one constant. That is why I have confidence that he will continue to lead us.

And that is why I will wait for my Abba’s voice. in-the-waiting

Wait for the Lord; be strong and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord! Psalm 27:14

We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield. Psalm 33:20

Lord, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God. Psalm 28:15

wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. Psalm 130:5

Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city. Proverbs 16:32

Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him! Isaiah 20:18

But you must return to your God; maintain love and justice, and wait for your God always. Hosea 12:6

But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me. Micah 7:7


 

 

